John 17:5 Jesus said “And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.”

imagesThis is the finishing blog on the topic of the “Divinity of Christ.” What does the Bible say about this tantamount subject, “Is Jesus God?”  By answering this question, let’s look at what Jesus Christ said about Himself!  The Scriptures answers these questions; the key is to know where to look. Most of the verses are in the Gospels; but primarily in the Book of John.

Remember: As a believer, you MUST believe that the Bible is 100% God-breathed, and innerant. If you do not, no doubt that imgresyou will have problems with having faith in basic Christian doctrine, and get misled. We believe that what Jesus said about Himself IS absolutely true!  2 Timothy 3:16 says, “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness.”

If you are believer, you must believe that Jesus IS God. Anything less, and you are tredding on thin ice, and likely in a cult.

Let’s start:

In Matthew 11:27 Jesus said, “All things have been committed to me  by MY Father.  No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal Him.”  1) This is the first time that Jesus refers to the Father, as MY Father.  2) All things have been committed to Jesus by His Father (the Almighty God)  3)  Jesus  and His Father have a very intimate relationship, and nobody knows about it unless the Son reveals it. (Thanks be to the Lord!) Matthew 12:8 Jesus said to the Pharisees, “For the Son of Man (ME) is the Lord of the Sabbath”,  in other words, Jesus created the Sabbath. Matthew 26:63-64 During Jesus’ mockery of a trial, Caiphas asks Jesus if he is the Messiah. Jesus tells the people, “In the future you will see the  Son of Man (ME) sitting at the right hand of the Mighty One and coming on the clouds of heaven.”

Luke 4:16-30 Jesus’ claim to be the Messiah- As was His teaching_in_the_synagogue1custom, Jesus entered the synagogue in His hometown of Nazareth on the Sabbath day.  He read from Isaiah 61:1-2, ending with the words, “to preach the acceptable year of the Lord”, a reference to the church age.   Then He closed the book of Isaiah and said, “Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing”. (Luke 4:21). In saying that, Jesus was claiming He was the fulfillment of Isaiah’s Messianic prophecy.  This launched His 3 ½ year ministry.  The townspeople did not believe Him, took Him to the edge of a cliff with the intent of pushing Him to His death.  At that point, they did not have sufficient evidence to believe He was the Messiah

John 4:26 Jesus told the Samaritan woman at the well, “I who speak to you am He (the Messiah)”. John 5:31 Jesus claimed to hqdefaultbe equal with God (5:18), to give eternal life (5:24), to be the source of life (5:26), and to judge sin (5:27)  John 7:28-29 Jesus taught the crowds saying, “I know God because I am from Him and He sent me.” John 7:33-34 Jesus said, “I am with you only for a short time, and then I go to the one who sent me (God the Father).  You will look for me, but you will not find me; and where I am, you cannot come.”John 8:12-20 Jesus says, “I am the Light of the World”.   He said, “I stand with the Father, who sent me”.  “If you knew me, you would know my Father also.”  John 8:23, 25 Jesus said, “You are from below, I am from above; He who sent me is reliable, and what I have heard from Him I tell the world. John 8:28 Jesus said, “I speak just what the Father has taught me.  John 8:42 Jesus teaches the Jews, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and now am here.  I have not come on my own; but He sent me.”  John 10:30 Jesus said to the religious leaders, “I and the Father are One.    John 10:30Jesus said, “Before Abraham was, I AM.”   I-am1 John 10:33-38 Jesus explains to the religious leaders “that the Scripture can’t be broken”.It is true. He was God’s Son.  They wanted to stone Him for blasphemy. John 12:45  When man looks at Jesus, he sees the One who sent Jesus.  (Jesus said this! Wow.)   John 12:49-50   Jesus said, “I did not speak on my own accord, but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and how to say it.”    John 14:6 Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the father except through me.   John 14:7 Jesus taught His disciples, “If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know Him and have seen Him.” John 14:8-14  Philip asks Jesus, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” Jesus answered, “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time?  Anyone who has seen Me has seen the Father. The Father is in Me. The Father, living in Me, does the work. I am in the Father, and the Father is in Me… I am going to the Father.”     John 14:24 Jesus says: The word which you hear is not Mine, but the Father who sent Me. John 17:5 Jesus said as He was praying to God before His crucifixion, “And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.     John 18:37  Pilate questions Jesus and asks Him, “Are you the king of 1_trapped15the Jews?”  Jesus says, “You are right in saying I am a king.  In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth.”

Look what Paul says in Colossians.

Colossians 2:9-10  For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.

And finally:

1 John 5:20  We know also that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know Him who is true.  And we are in Him who is true–even in His Son Jesus Christ.  He is the true God and eternal life.

So good to use the Bible as our prime source of Eternal Direction! Thank you Father, Son, and Holy Spirit!

In our next blogs, we will investigate the Law and the Commandments, and then on to the “balance of grace and truth,” and how that is so important in the Christian life.

 

 

About Dr. Robert

I am married to Janet and we have four children. I am active in Grace church in Racine, Wisconsin and serve there in leadership and teaching . I have been an internist for 30 years and keep busy by taking care of a full load of patients. On the side, I like to write, coach, mentor, spend time with my family just hangin' out, and help take care of our three dogs; a Golden and two Berneses'.
This entry was posted in Divinity of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to John 17:5 Jesus said “And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.”

  1. Dianne Luedtke says:

    Thank you for putting all this together. How can one doubt when all these quotes are lined up in one place. Thank you, Dr. G. for your continued work. I appreciate it!

  2. terry says:

    What a blessing my spirit has been blessed thanks for sharing this Robert

Leave a Reply

